These individuals are dedicated to the development of educated, intelligent, articulate, passionate, ethical and thoughtful leaders. Their time, talent and financial support is critical to the success of each student we serve. 


Board of directors

Juan Astiazaran, Chair

Senior Project Manager, ORB Architecture

Eddie Genna, J.D. , Vice Chair

Professor/Liberal Arts - Phoenix Community College

Pablo Sandoval, Treasurer

Project Manager, Willmeng Construction - AGUILA Alum (2007 Cohort)

Evelyn Hernandez, Secretary

Deputy County Attorney - Maricopa County Attorney's Office/Community Based Prosecution

Esther Avila

Deputy Director - City of Phoenix Parks & Recreation/South Division

Linda Garcia

Deputy County Attorney - Maricopa County Attorney's Office

Robert S. Hernandez, Member

Co-Founder - AGUILA Youth Leadership Institute, Inc.

Josh Nunez

Attorney - Nunez & Associates

Marcos Tapia

Attorney - Renaud Cook Drury Mesaros, PA

Ruby Torres

Attorney - Mick Levin, PLC

Lorena Valencia

CEO/Founder - Reliance Wire

Stephanie Vasquez

Owner/Founder - Fair Trade Cafe

Rosemary Ybarra-Hernandez

CEO/Founder - AGUILA Youth Leadership Institute, Inc.

aguila staff

Michel Contreras, New Mexico State University

Program Coordinator - Communications & Marketing

Hortencia Gutierrez, BA, MEd, Arizona State University

Director - Career Services/Special Events

Juliette Hernandez, St. Mary's University/San Antonio

Program Coordinator - Pre-Law/Pre-Med/Emerging Engineers/Symposium

Yanneth Montes, Grand Canyon University

Director/Community Relations

Denisse Ramos, BA, Northern Arizona University

Faculty - Academy/Parent University

Rafael Vazquez, BA, Stanford University, MEd, Arizona State University

Director/Curriculum - Institute

Rosemary Ybarra-Hernandez, BS, MPA, PhD (ABD), Arizona State University


Kristina Zavala,  AA, Scottsdale Community College, Arizona State University

Program Specialist - Alumni Relations/Data Analytics

Oliva Zelaya, BS, Arizona State University

Faculty - Academy/Institute/Parent University



Esther Duarte, Arizona State University

Faculty/11th grade

Dr. Monte Fuse, UC/Berkeley

Faculty/11th grade

Alicia Olivas, Arizona State University

Faculty/10th grade

Edith Preciado, Arizona State University

Faculty/10th grade

Priscilla Vasquez, Arizona State University

Faculty/12th grade